How Exactly Do Zodiac Signs Work Anyway?

Astrologers hold that the positions of the sun, stars, moon and planets at the time of one’s birth influence personalities and predict fortunes. The patterns of the stars called the Signs of the Zodiac has the biggest influence on the charts known as the horoscope. While many of us know the Signs and how they influence personalities, there’s a lot more at play!

The History Of Astrology And The Beginnings Of The Zodiac

Astrology is the belief that the positions of the stars and planets have some influence over humans. The earliest humans looked at the night sky and saw that the stars weren’t fixed; the cosmic patterns vaguely looked like figures from mythology and daily life, and they shifted and moved through a cycle (much like the rest of life). The seasons, weather, community relations, economic prosperity, and so much more all changed, as if linked to the changing patterns of stars and where they were in relation to the rest of the world.

As these early astrologers noticed the patterns in the stars and how they changed throughout the year, they began to map them and observe how they influenced not only wider societal fortunes, but each life, too. The legacy passed down to us has given people many different types of astrology to learn about; it can be as simple as reading the Zodiac at one’s birth, what many people know this as sun-sign astrology. These are the horoscopes read as a novelty in the newspaper.

Receive insights, information and updates on new offerings.

Email Subscription


* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )

View previous campaigns.

But to get the fullest picture of your sign, you need to know how the Zodiacs work. The sky is in constant motion, and the snapshot of the moving sky on the day and at the exact time and place you were born can be found in a natal chart. But astrologers split the 12 Signs into three more categories, and these are all influenced by the location of the other heavenly bodies!

How The Signs Of The Zodiac Work

As Earth orbits the sun, the sun appears to pass in front of the 12 constellations that make up the Zodiac. You know the 12 Signs (if you’re not sure, we list them below!) and how each sign has unique qualities and energies, but some Signs do share general similarities.

Astrologers divide the 12 Signs of the Zodiac into two Polarities, Masculine and Feminine; they are further split into three Astrological Modalities: Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable; lastly, the Signs group into four Elements: Fire, Earth, Air, and Water. These three aspects give the Zodiacs more unique characteristics than the personality charts you may know. Here’s how the 12 Signs break down:

  • Aries (The Ram) March 21 – April 20: Masculine Proud, Cardinal, Fire. Aries is youthful, brave, competitive, impulsive, arrogant, and even violent.

  • Taurus (The Bull) April 21 – May 21: Feminine Conservative, Fixed, Earth. Taurus is sensual, loyal, stubborn, materialistic, resistant to change, and possessive.

  • Gemini (The Twins) May 22 – June 21: Masculine Persuasive, Mutable, Air. Gemini loves information and travel and is highly literate, curious, adaptable, and absent-minded.

  • Cancer (The Crab) June 22 – July 22: Feminine Cautious, Cardinal, Water. Cancer is family-oriented, romantic, domestic, imaginative, shy, and interested in the traditions of the past.

  • Leo (The Lion) July 23 -August 21: Masculine Proud, Fixed, Fire. Leo is courageous, optimistic, open, ambitious, stubborn, extroverted, vain, and often associated with royalty.

  • Virgo (The Virgin) August 22 – September 23: Feminine Conservative, Mutable, Earth. Virgo is shy, kindly, uptight, skeptical, concerned with health, introverted, and often full of melancholy.

  • Libra (The Scales) September 24 – October 23: Masculine Extroverted, Cardinal, Air. Libra is analytical, unbiased, secretive, tactful, concerned with harmony, but prone to collapse in the face of conflict.

  • Scorpio (The Scorpion) October 24 – November 22: Feminine Vengeful, Fixed, Water. Scorpio is sarcastic, courageous, tenacious, self-protective, and known for endurance in the face of adversity.

  • Sagittarius (The Archer) November 23 – December 22: Masculine Daring, Mutable, Fire. Sagittarius is proud, restless, dual-natured (both intellectual and passionate), extroverted, progressive, and eclectic.

  • Capricorn (The Goat-Fish) December 23 – January 20: Feminine Neurotic, Cardinal, Earth. Capricorn is a good planner, concerned with detail, practical, introspective, inhibited, fatalistic, and methodical.

  • Aquarius (The Water Bearer) January 21 – February 19: Masculine Intellectual, Fixed, Air. Aquarius is rational, tolerant, individualistic, iconoclastic, and concerned with science and civilization.

  • Pisces (The Fish) February 20- March 20: Feminine Emotional, Mutable, Water. Pisces is adaptable, empathic, versatile, creative, impractical, talkative, and self-sacrificing.

Why The Horoscope Doesn’t End With The Zodiac Signs

Serious astrology isn’t only the Zodiac Signs; the place of the planets, Sun and Moon within the 12 constellations influence your life, too. The planets and two luminaries (the Sun and the Moon) represent different qualities and characteristics, ruling over different parts of our lives. Where they were when you were born forms a complex, specific profile of someone’s personality, life and prospects.

A full horoscope is an astronomical map that shows the location of your Ascendant, Midheaven, Sun, Moon, and planets, along with the signs and houses. Now that you know how the Zodiac Signs work, you can gain a better understanding of how your astrological chart influences your life and future!

Reach Out

Looking to connect more deeply with your zodiac and how it plays a role in your life’s experience?
Subscribe now for newsletters! Top of the page!